Why Norton Mobile Security flags an app as a 'Privacy Risk' on my Android device?

App Advisor feature of Norton Mobile Security protects your device by warning about the installed apps that display intrusive behavior and pose potential privacy risks. It scans your device by performing a cloud-based Reputation Scan and flags the apps as a 'Privacy Risk' or 'Safe App'.

Based on the App Advisor report, you may choose to trust or uninstall the apps that are flagged as 'Privacy Risk'.

Following are the behaviors that App Advisor scans and check the apps for:

  • Collects SMS or Text messages: It is likely that this app gathers and sends your messages from your phone. In addition to privacy risks, sending this information either over your network or by text messaging shall add charges to your data or mobile plan.

  • Collects call log details: This app likely gathers and sends details, such as date, duration, and telephone numbers from the calls you make and receive. In addition to privacy risks, sending this information either over your network or by text messaging shall add charges to your data plan.

  • Collects camera pictures: This app likely gathers and sends pictures from your device. In addition to privacy risks, sending this information either over your network or by text messaging shall add charges to your data plan.

  • Collects details about contacts: It is likely that this app gathers and sends address book details. In addition to privacy risks, sending this information either over your network or by text messaging shall add charges to your data plan.

  • Displays ads in the app: While using this app, your experience can be interrupted by ads, such as banners, pop-ups or other graphics. These kinds of ads are common, a lot of free apps contain them.

  • Collects device phone number: It is likely that this app collects and sends your phone number from your device. In addition to a potential privacy risk, sending this information either over your network or through text message can add charges to your data plan.

  • Collects SIM card details: It is likely that this app collects and sends details from your SIM card, such as address book information, mobile PIN numbers and call history. These details can also identify your device and can be used to "blacklist" a device from its mobile network. In addition to a potential privacy risk, sending this information either over your network or through text messaging can add charges to your data plan.

  • Collects personal account details: It is likely that this app collects and sends personal account details, like user names and passwords for accounts synced with your mobile device. In addition to a potential privacy risk, sending this information either over your network or through text messaging can add charges to your data plan.

  • Prompts to install other apps: When you use this app, it will prompt you to install other apps on your device. Don't worry, these apps cannot be installed without your permission, but this prompt can disrupt your experience within the app.

  • Updates itself with new features: This app automatically updates itself with new features without asking you for permission. The updates may not always be malicious, and can simply be part of how the app functions.

  • Puts ads on notification bar: This app places ads in your Android notification bar, which can cause the bar to become cluttered, and important notifications, like missed calls, to be overlooked.

  • Adds icons to device screen: This app creates advertising icons on your device's home screen, such as a shortcut to a web ad, or the icon can be an ad itself.

  • Modifies browser bookmarks: This app adds, deletes or changes the bookmarks in your mobile browser, and can likely add links for advertising sites to your bookmarks menu.

  • Plays audio ad after dialing: This app can disrupt your phone calls by playing audio ads instead of the ringing sound after you dial a contact.

  • Displays ads in the SMS Inbox: This app inserts text ads into your text messaging inbox. You probably would not receive a notification that these ads are there, but they can clutter your inbox and make looking up your real text messages more difficult.

  • Changes browser homepage: Using this app makes changes to your mobile browser's default home page.

  • Sends an SMS when clicking ads: When you interact with an ad, this app sends unauthorized text messages to an outside party or service, using your data plan. You can see additional data charges, as well as charges for unapproved outside services and subscriptions.

  • Collects recorded audio clips: It is likely that this app can collect and send recorded audio clips from your device. In addition to privacy risks, sending this information either over your network or by text messaging shall add charges to your data plan.

  • Collects calendar event details: It is likely that this app gathers and sends details about your calendar events from your phone. In addition to privacy risks, sending this information either over your network or by text messaging shall add charges to your data plan.

Thank you!

Thank you for using Norton Support.

< Back

Was this information helpful?

DOCID: v89916744_EndUserProfile_en_us
Operating System: Android
Last modified: 10/27/2016