Delete backup set

You can delete a backup set if it is no longer needed. You cannot delete a backup set if only one backup set is available. However, you can create a new backup set before you delete the old backup set.

When a backup set is deleted, the Backup details of the files that are included in that backup set also change. For example, the icon overlays and the Backup tab in the file properties of the file no longer appear.

Deleting a backup set is particularly helpful if you want to free some space on your Secure Cloud Storage.

To delete a backup set from your online backup, you must set the Network Cost Awareness option in the Firewall Settings window to No Limit.

For more information, go to Defining the Internet usage of your Norton product

Delete a backup set

  1. In the Norton main window, double-click Backup, and then click Backup Sets.

  2. On the Summary tab, in the Backup Set Name drop-down list, select the backup set that you want to delete.

  3. Under Things You Can Do, click Delete backup set.

  4. In the Delete Backup Set window, select Delete backup set option.

  5. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.

Delete backup set and files

  1. In the Norton main window, double-click Backup, and then click Backup Sets.

  2. On the Summary tab, in the Backup Set Name drop-down list, select the backup set that you want to delete.

  3. Under Things You Can Do, click Delete backup set.

  4. In the Delete Backup Set window, select Delete backup set and files option.

    The Manage Backup Set window shows the progress of the backed files that get deleted from your selected backup set.

  5. Click Yes to confirm.

Video: How to delete a backup set and the files that you backed up

Thank you!

Thank you for using Norton Support.

< Back

Was this information helpful?

DOCID: v19828921_ns_backup_en_us
Operating System: Windows
Last modified: 09/14/2017