Delete previously backed up files

You can delete the files that you backed up previously from your backup location. You can also delete the files if the files are no longer useful for you and you have a limited space on your backup location. You can also delete backed up files if you changed the file category for a backup set. You may want to delete previously backed up files before you run a backup.

You can delete the previously backed up files from the following locations:

  • Summary tab

  • Where tab

When the backed up files are deleted, the backup details of the files that belong to the backup set that you delete also changes. For example, the icon overlays and the Backup tab in the file properties of the file no longer appear.

You cannot delete a backup set if only one backup set is available.

You can also uncheck the backup category if you no longer want to back up the files that you deleted.

Deleting previously backed up files is particularly helpful if you want to free some space on your Secure Online Storage.

To delete files from your online backup, you must set the Network Cost Awareness option in the Firewall Settings window to No Limit.

For more information, go to Defining the Internet usage of your Norton product

Delete previously backed up files from the Summary tab

  1. In the Norton main window, double-click Backup, and then click Backup Sets.

  2. On the Summary tab, in the Backup Set Name drop-down list, select the backup set that you want to delete.

  3. Under Things You Can Do, click Delete backup set.

  4. In the Delete Backup Set window, select one of the following:

    Delete backup set

    Lets you remove the backup set.

    Delete backup set and files

    Lets you remove the backup set and the files that are available in the backup set.

  5. Click Yes to confirm.

Delete previously backed up files from the Where tab

  1. In the Norton main window, double-click Backup, and then click Backup Sets.

  2. On the Where tab, click Delete Backed up Files.

  3. In the window that appears, in the drop-down list, select the backup set from which you want to delete the previously backed up files.

    This window appears when you have more than one backup set.

  4. Click OK.

  5. In the window that appears, in the left pane, select the file category that contains the files.

    You can also select the Folders category to select the folders that you want to delete.

  6. Check the files that you want to delete.

  7. To view the files that you selected, on the left pane, click Selected Files.

  8. Click OK.

  9. In the confirmation dialog box, click Yes.

  10. Click Close.

Video: How to delete a backup set and the files that you backed up

Thank you!

Thank you for using Norton Support.

< Back

Was this information helpful?

DOCID: v19828892_ns_backup_en_us
Operating System: Windows
Last modified: 03/21/2017