Other products

Delete backup set and files from Cloud Backup

You can delete a backup set if it is no longer needed. You cannot delete a backup set if only one backup set is available. However, you can create a new backup set before you delete the old backup set.

Sometimes, a back-end service outage or server maintenance can stop you from deleting your backup data. In such cases, try deleting after some time. To identify if there is a service outage, check the Norton Service Status page.

When a backup set is deleted, the Backup details of the files that are included in that backup set also change. For example, the icon overlays and the Backup tab in the file properties of the file no longer appear.

Deleting a backup set is particularly helpful if you want to free some space on your Secure Cloud Storage.

To delete a backup set from your cloud backup, you must set the Network Cost Awareness option in the Firewall Settings window to No Limit.

For more information, go to Defining the Internet usage of your Norton product.

Delete a backup set

  1. Open your Norton device security product.

    If you see the My Norton window, next to Device Security, click Open.

  2. In the Norton product main window, double-click Backup, and then click Backup Sets.

  3. In the Backup Settings window, in the Backup Set drop-down list, select the backup set that you want to delete.

  4. Click Delete.

  5. In the Delete Backup Set window, do one of the following:

    • To delete the current backup set, select Delete backup set.

    • To delete the current backup set and purge the files already backed up, select Delete backup set and files.

  6. Click Yes.

Delete backup set from your account

  1. Sign in to your account.

  2. In the My Norton page, under Cloud Backup, click View Backup Sets.

    The existing backup sets that are in use are displayed.

  3. To delete a backup set, click the trash icon of the backup set that you want to delete.

  4. In the Delete Backup Set confirmation window, click Delete.

    Click Cancel to display the backup page without deleting the backup set.

Video: How to delete a backup set and the files that you backed up


The solution made it easy for me to handle my issue.

Yes No

Help us improve this solution.

Thank you for helping to improve this experience.

What would you like to do now?

Browse for solutions, search the Norton Community, or Contact Us.

DOCID: v19828921
Operating System: Windows
Last modified: 11/17/2021