Other products

Permanently delete files using Data Shredder in Norton Utilities Ultimate

When you delete a file in Windows, it is not completely erased. The file or contents of the file can be easily recovered and viewed. You need to shred the files to erase all the remnants and tracks left by deleted files.

The Data Shredder feature in Norton Utilities Ultimate helps you permanently and securely delete files and folders. This feature also helps ensure that your files can never be recovered when you sell, donate, or recycle your computer.

Delete files with Data Shredder

  1. Open Norton Utilities Ultimate.

  2. On the main menu, click Data shredder.

  3. In the Data shredder window, click Select Files.

  4. Select the files that you want to shred and click Open.

    Wait for Norton Utilities Ultimate to add the selected files to the shredding list. If you want to add more files to the shredding list, use the Add Files option.

  5. Click Shred.

  6. In the confirmation window, click Shred.

    Wait for Norton Utilities Ultimate to complete the shredding activity.

  7. After the activity is complete, click Done.

You can also right-click on a folder or file you want to shred and select Add to Norton Data Shredder from the context menu. In addition, you can select multiple items as you would in Windows. The Add to Norton Data Shredder option is available only when the Add Data Shredder to the Windows context menu check box is selected in the Data Shredder settings window.

Context menu options only appear when Norton Utilities Ultimate runs in the background. The context menu options are not visible if you do not see the Norton Utilities Ultimate tray icon in the Windows notification area.

At any point during shredding, you can pause or cancel the shredding activity. If you do not want a file to be shredded, click Pause > the delete ('X') icon next to the file > Skip to exclude the specific file from being shredded.

Norton Utilities Ultimate notifies you if you accidentally added any system files for shredding. Deleting system files may impact the normal functioning of your computer. We recommend that you do not select any system files for shredding.

Configure Data Shredder settings

  1. Open Norton Utilities Ultimate.

  2. On the main menu, click Settings > Data Shredder.

  3. In the Data Shredder settings window, configure the following settings:

    • Add Data Shredder to the Windows context menu: Enables the Add to Norton Data Shredder option in the Windows right-click context menu. You can right-click on a folder or file and select Add to Norton Data Shredder from the context menu to add the item for shredding directly.

    • Set a shredding priority: Select a priority setting from the drop-down list. Your options are:

      • Low priority: Select this setting to run shredding with low priority to allow you to perform other tasks.

      • High priority: Select this setting prioritizes shredding over other running processes.

    • Select a shredding algorithm: Select an algorithm from the drop-down list. Your options are:

      • Random algorithm: This single-pass overwrite algorithm efficiently shreds data taking minimum time.

      • Gutmann algorithm: This overwrite algorithm has 35 passes to delete data from magnetic media securely. Created by Peter Gutmann, this algorithm offers high-level security but takes more time to complete.

      • DoD 5250.22-M algorithm: This overwrite algorithm has 3 passes. It provides high-level security but takes time to complete. U.S. military and government agencies trust this algorithm to shred highly sensitive documents securely.

I found this information helpful.

Yes No

Help us improve this solution.

Thank you for helping to improve this experience.

What would you like to do now?

Browse for solutions, search the Norton Community, or Contact Us.

DOCID: v20230821121949328
Operating System: Windows
Last modified: 10/31/2023